## **December 4, 2014**

Reorganization meeting of the Board of Directors was held in the Middle School Library. President Heyman called meeting to order at 7:00 pm, EST.

## **Board Members Present:**

**Board Members Absent:** 

Alan Colorito Harry Gilarno Dawn Greene Barbara Heyman Lori Pail Mary Ann Petcovic Lorraine Rocco Jennifer Sayre **Dennis Sharpless** 

**School Staff Present**:

**Solicitor:** 

Matt Hoffman, Esq.

Dr. Jeffrey Fuller, Superintendent Noriene Plate, Business Manager Misty Slavic, Director of Curriculum & Instruction

Bill Deal, Principal, High School

Frank Hernandez, Assistant Principal, High School Dr. Darlene Corris, Principal, Middle School

Richard Edder, Principal, Elementary Schools

Scott Smith, Construction Representative/Clerk of Services

Gary Mortimer, Director of Buildings & Grounds

John Rosa, Faculty & Athletic Director

Following roll call and prior to the Board Reorganization, the Board and Audience listened to an array of beautiful Christmas Carols presented by the High School Chamber Singers.

Ava Hicks, Big Knob Elementary 4th Grade Student, was recognized for her artwork selected as the District's 2014 Holiday Card.

Chairperson Pro-Tempore Motion by Heyman, seconded by Petcovic, to elect Lorraine Rocco as Chairperson Pro-Tempore to conduct the reorganization meeting of the Board of Directors.

All members voting yea. Motion carried.

Election of President

Chairperson Pro-Tempore Lorraine Rocco declared nominations open for President of the Board of Directors.

Rocco nominated Barbara Heyman as President of the Board of Directors,

seconded by Gilarno.

Greene nominated Jennifer Sayre as President of the Board of Directors, seconded by

Sharpless.

The Chair called for other nominations; hearing none, declared nominations closed.

Roll Call Vote Yea Votes for Heyman – Petcovic, Pail, Gilarno, Colorito, Rocco, Heyman.

Yea Votes for Sayre – Greene, Sharpless, and Sayre.

Motion carried – 6 Yeas for Barbara Heyman as President of the Board of Directors.

Election of Vice-President Chairperson Pro-Tempore Lorraine Rocco declared nominations open for Vice-President of the Board of Directors. Heyman nominated MaryAnn Petcovic, seconded

by Gilarno.

The Chair called for other nominations; hearing none, declared nominations closed.

Roll Call Vote Yea Votes - Greene, Colorito, Sayre, Sharpless, Gilarno, Petcovic, Rocco, Pail, and

Heyman Motion carried – 9 Yeas.

## **Board Meetings**

Motion by Colorito, seconded by Greene, to approve and set the monthly meetings for the Board of Directors of the Freedom Area School District. The time will be 7:00 pm for the year 2015. All meetings will be in accordance with the Sunshine Law. Central Office will advertise in the newspaper the meeting nights. Meetings are open to the public. Business can be conducted at the Agenda and Regular Board Meetings. Monthly meetings as follows:

- (A) General Agenda Meeting  $-1^{st}$  Thursday of the month (B) Regular Board Meeting  $-2^{nd}$  Thursday of the month (C) General Committee Meeting  $-3^{rd}$  Thursday of the month

	With the Following Exception		
	<u>Agenda</u>	Regular	
January 2015:	Jan. 8	Jan. 15	
April 2015:	April 16	April 23	
June 2015:	June 11	June 18	
July 2015:	To Be Determined		
August 2015:	Aug. 3	Aug. 20	
Sept. 2015:	Sept. 10	Sept. 16	
Dec. 2015:	-	Dec. 10	

Roll Call

Yea Votes - Greene, Colorito, Sayre, Sharpless, Gilarno, Petcovic, Rocco, Pail, and Heyman Motion carried – 9 Yeas.

Adjourn

Motion by Gilarno, seconded by Petcovic, to adjourn. All members voting yea. Motion carried – 9 Yeas. Reorganization meeting adjourned at 7:15 pm, EST.

Submitted by:

Lorraine Rocco, Board Secretary